I hope you’ll forgive me: I intended to post this last week when this all first went down, but with what you’ll read about here, I just haven’t really thought about it much. In any case, today you’ll be treated to two blog posts, the second coming soon, a bit later.

In any case, without further ado, enjoy!



 

Day I

The journey started today. My destination? Ridgecrest, California. Why? Because I’m going to make a future for myself. I haven’t a future where I’m at; I plan to make a future for myself. I don’t know what it will be, but I’m a hard worker and I will succeed. In short, this is my exodus, and I will survive; it’s what I do best.

Although the day felt long, the states and cities seemed to fly by. I swear: we got all the way from Luna Pier, Michigan to Oklahoma, City, Oklahoma in…a holy metric crapton of time. (That’s right, ladies and gentlemen; we’re not talking about regular ol’ metric tons; we’re talking about metric craptons—this is serious s**t.)

Either way, onward!

Day II

We’re currently in New Mexico, about 8–16 km (≈5–10 mi) west of Albuquerque, New Mexico. We will most likely have to stay for the night, and arrive in Ridgecrest, California in the morning.

The landscape is mostly prairie-like at the moment, though this comes off as somewhat amazing to me considering we’re approximately 1 690 m (≈5 530 ft) above sea level; we seem to be traveling over the Rocky Mountains.

Day III

Well, we’re in California now. The desert is larger than I ever imagined; we have been driving for tens upon tens of kilometres and nothing but road, sand, brush, and rock. The mountains and skies have been gorgeous, though.

This landscape truly is breathtaking.


Travel Log

I’m finally moving to California; I’m in Illinois now and on my way. I’ve decided to keep a basic record of the milestones of my and my friend’s journey, and although I’m a little late seeing as we left about 08:30 (UTC-5) today, I feel it’s not too late; my friend can always fill in what I cannot remember.

All times are in UTC:

Luna Pier, Michigan → Ridgecrest, California

Date Time Status
Feb 23 13:30 Left Home
13:35 Left Michigan; Entered Ohio
15:30 Left Ohio; Entered Indiana
19:40 Left Indiana; Entered Illinois
22:12 Left Illinois; Entered Missouri
Feb 24 03:41 Left Missouri; Entered Oklahoma
17:01 Left Oklahoma; Entered TEXAS
19:44 Left TEXAS; Entered New Mexico
Feb 25 01:20 Left New Mexico; Entered Arizona
14:40 Left Arizona; Entered California
18:32 Entered Ridgecrest, California
18:42 Arrived at New Home!

 


Image Credit: “Cubicle Wall”, by Seth Sawyers

Released under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0) license.
No changes were made.

Leave a Reply

