Hey, listen, I’m sorry about being so late to post today. I’m still in college, and it’s the end of the semester, so things are really crunched for time right about now. And, unfortunately, because of how busy I’ve been, I haven’t gotten that long post completely ready yet, so it’ll have to wait for another week. I’m hoping to get it all finished by next week, but I don’t know. We’ll have to just wait and see.

In place of the long post I wanted to show you this week, I thought I’d post another poem of mine. As usual, I do hope you enjoy it.


“Freedom Rings”

The bells stop, so
I dash
across the courtyard.
Empty. Not good.

Too much
of that can be deadly,
too many have employed it.
Trapping their enemies…
Death upon an unwilling fly.

I will it off, too close to give.
Mere metres away from what I want…
I want that freedom. Everyone does.
But beliefs are expensive around here.

I reach for the gate. A bell rings
adjacent to my ear, a loud echo.
The Robe-wearers awaken, others give chase.
“Repent!”, they demand of me.

But one is holding a cross.
I cannot abide by their demands.


Image Credit: Dávid Kótai
Released under an Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic (CC BY-SA 2.0) license.
Image has not been changed.

Leave a Reply

